Takin’ on the Jellies

When was the last time you went to an aquarium? I vividly remember going to the Monterey Bay Aquarium in seventh grade and being completely in awe of the jellyfish exhibit. I must admit, I did have a pretty big obsession with Spongebob, and yes, that could have been why I liked the jellies so much, but when you look at those guys, how could you not be intrigued? When my boyfriend asked if I wanted to go, I jumped at the opportunity to visit again (this time without a wind-up camera and a little more photography know-how) and was sucked into the infatuation I felt as an adolescent. I regretfully admit to elbowing a few adults (and maybe children…) out of the way to snap these photos and was ecstatic with my results. Take a look:

Black Sea Nettle

Black Sea Nettle

 

Black Sea Nettle2

Black Sea Nettle2

Egg Yolk Jelly

Egg Yolk Jelly

 

Egg Yolk Jelly2

Egg Yolk Jelly2

Moon Jellies

Moon Jellies

Jelly

Jelly

Jelly2

Jelly2

Jelly3

Jelly3

Jelly4

Jelly4

Jelly5

Jelly5

 

Spotted Jelly

Spotted Jelly

Okay, so the last one isn’t my best work, I admit. But tell me you can’t picture yourself jellyfishing for these guys with Patrick and that little square dude…

Leave a Reply

